The best blimmin’ cookies that have ever existed on this planet!

I am a lover of many foods, as I’m sure you are too. Some of these foods include: Dates, peanut butter, bananas, chocolate, tea, yoghurt, tahini, butter, vegemite, crackers, vogels bread and many many maaaaaaaaaaaaany more.

I’ve also discovered the glorious combination of Dijon mustard with cheese. Please. Please, please eat this if you haven’t. But oh so recently in my world of baking, I have discovered a few fabulous foods that, when combined, produce a cookie so delicious that I would, if I could, bake them every day and swear that I would never sicken of them. They are, coconut sugar and carob buttons.

I tell you the truth, I have known about carob for a while now, but it hasn’t been till recently that I have started to eat and discover the joyful truth about it. Coconut sugar has been a deliverer for me. It is so so tasty. And believe it or not, kind of good for you. Unlike refined white and brown sugar, it doesn’t leave my head aching when I have too much. If I have it at hand, I replace any refined sugar in a recipe with coconut sugar. If you want all the nitty gritty information about it go here.

RIGHT!

So, I created cookie recipe which combines these ingredients. The coconut sugar produces a smooth caramel flavour, while the carob’s crunch and milky taste compliments it all.

Carob button cookies

ingredients:

2 cups of white spelt flour

3/4 tsp baking soda

1 tsp salt 200g unsalted butter

1 1/4 cup coconut sugar

2 Tbsp milk

1 tsp vanilla extract

1 large egg

1 – 1 1/2 cups of carob buttons

Preheat oven to 180 degrees C.

Combine flour, salt and baking soda in a bowl. In another bowl beat the butter, sugar, vanilla and milk together until creamy. Beat in the egg. Gradually add the flour mixture in the wet mixture. Stir in the carob buttons. Place big spoonfuls onto a baking tray. Flatten the cookies a little. Bake for 10-11 minutes until golden. Leave on the tray for a few minutes, then cool on a baking rack. Eat straight away, or place in the freezer for a delicious crunchy cookie! Makes around two dozen cookies. DSC03438

Leave a Reply

