Goats, Pigs and Cows

To market, to market, to buy a fat pig,
Home again, home again, jiggety-jig.
To market, to market, to buy a fat hog,
Home again, home again, jiggety-jog.
To market, to market, to buy a plum bun,
Home again, home again, market is done.

Hello all 🙂

It has been awhile, but a lot has been happening. During the last few months I had been practising for a solo recital that I was performing in the city of Hamilton. Despite not performing as a soloist for quite some time, the concert went surprisingly well in my opinion. I made people happy – and that was the main thing. Oh, and I enjoyed it too 🙂 If you wish to watch it, you can see it HERE.

I love visiting Hamilton. I lived out my teenage years there, so I have a lot of fond memories and places I like to revisit. There is always something so deliciously wonderful about coming back to your childhood home which is warm and spacious and filled with peace, love, music and good home cooking! I am very much a person who treasures keeping memories alive, so every time I come home I invade the family photo albums and look through them for a good half and hour. I also love to wander to all the places I used to explore in nature ( as you may have gathered from my previous posts).

It was Autumn when I was visiting. Here are a few shots 🙂

DSC03508 DSC03497 DSC03493

But the real reason of this post. A feast. A fabulous meal! I’m lucky that I have family living so close. My sister and her husband, and their two little boys live just up the road. They are incredibly dedicated and hard-working parents, and I thought they needed a night off, soooo Wayne and I planned a meal for them last weekend. We stopped off at the market for all our fresh veges, popped by the supermarket for everything else, then took it all to my sister’s to start cooking.

Round one was a light appetizer of mushrooms stuffed with goats cheese and parsley.

Round two was the main, which consisted of Swedish meatballs, celeriac mash, honey carrots and peas.

Round three was the dessert – a free form pear and apple tart with walnut and maple icecream.

It was so much fun cooking in their kitchen. They have a proper PROPER large, spacious kitchen with every utensil you could wish for. Just perfect for the food we were preparing. It was so much fun working with Wayne in the kitchen! If you don’t know Wayne, he is an extremely gentle and calm person – so he will never raise his voice, even if he is under an environment of pressure.

DSC03529

Now you’re probably wondering what the title of this post has got to do with anything. Well, we had the help of a goat (cheese), a pig (meatball) and cow (meat, cream and butter)…

Another unusual food we worked with was celeriac. All it is, is the root of celery. It was used instead of the traditional mashed potatoes. It was SO yummy! especially with the added thyme.

Here is a picture of the celeriac:

DSC03532

And here is a picture with it cooked with the rest of the food:

DSC03536

aaaannnd here are some photos of the mushrooms.DSC03533DSC03534

My tart didn’t quite work out how I wanted it. Go on. Laugh at the cooked tart.

DSC03537

DSC03538

The ugliness of it was forgotten when I added some icecream.

DSC03539

Overall, it was a good hearty dinner. Perfect for a cold winter’s evening.

See you all later! and stay warm!!!

Leave a Reply

