My Delightful Breakfast

Now why am I posting about my breakfast you might be asking?

This is no ordinary breakfast. This is heaven on my taste buds every morning. It soothes every part of my body. It delights my soul. I mourn a little when I can’t have it one morning. Even if I have crossiants with jam and cream, or pancakes, or salmon and cream cheese one morning…I will rejoice the morning after when I can satisfy my stomach with this heaven on earth.

Even if I’ve stuffed myself full the night before with an unnecessary portion of indulgent food, I still wake up the next day and smile over the breakfast that I created and loved.

This breakfast, my friends, is my magical banana porridge. It may not sound like much, but it’s the way it is made and combination of flavours that makes it my favourite meal of every day. It is deliciously warm and silky smooth. It is perfect accompanied with a pot of tea!

Here is what you will need:

DSC03569

One large banana – the bigger, the better!

A quarter cup to a third of a cup of rolled oats ground up to make a flour.

Cinnamon – as much as you want. I’m crazy and throw in around one – two tablespoons…but as I said, I’m crazy and that might be too much for some people.

Yoghurt – Preferably greek. I use half a cup of yoghurt.

One Orange

Blueberrys (optional)

First off, I grind the oats in a blender. I have a smoothie blender ( which I confess is only really used to make things into flour) that grinds the oats into a flour. I then throw it into a saucepan with some water and the cinnamon. HINT: Don’t make porridge in the microwave…..it’s never as good!

DSC03570

Theeeen I mash my banana and stir it in the porridge when it is thick and smooth. The reason I grind my oats up into a flour, is because it creates a smooth, pudding like texture when cooked. It also cooks a lot faster…which is handy when you’re in a rush in the morning.

As this is cooking, I cut up my orange into little pieces.

When it is cooked and smelling glorious, I pour the porridge into a bowl, spoon the yoghurt on top, then plonk the orange on top of that too.

Voila! The best thing that has happened to my mornings! Seriously….I’ve been eating this breakfast for the last three years, and I’m still not sick of it!

DSC03572

DSC03573

Test it out! I dare you 🙂

Leave a Reply

