30 Days with Maddy, Day Six: Roots and accidentals

WP_20151020_012

Today’s post may be a little short. I also apologise if it doesn’t make much sense, or is badly written. My head is throbbing due to a larger work load that I’m used to. I’ve accepted some last minute orchestral work that is unraveling and becoming a lot more time consuming that I had made it out to be. A big frustration that a harpist has to deal with is the amount of accidentals modern composers throw at you thinking that you can play music just like a pianist. They don’t realise that once you have the music, you have to sit for hours and work out the pedal changes and combinations like working out a maths equation, then spend another long while at the harp working out if what they’ve written is actually possible. I’ve gotta say though…I do feel sorry for composers. Harp is possibly one of the most annoying instruments to write for, especially if you can’t play the instrument.

If I ever write for harp, i’m going to stick in one key. One simple key…with like one accidental change.

I’m sorry for all the non-musicians out there. That probably made no sense whatsoever. If you want to know a little bit more about me, go to the “about me” page. It explains what I do for a living.

Now to change the topic. The photo above is of the skyline track. I took a major detour home today as it was a beautiful still day. The skyline track is one of my many escape places that reside near my house in Karori.

WP_20151020_013

WP_20151020_014

And these roots you see here? They are awesome because they’re used as natural steps.

Anyway, I’m going to leave it here.

One thought on “30 Days with Maddy, Day Six: Roots and accidentals

Leave a Reply

