30 days with Maddy, Day Ten! : Simply Sushi

First off, here is a photo of my breakfast. Doesn’t it look amazing? It tasted pretty awesome too. Banana icecream (blended frozen bananas) with date/molasses/cocoa cookies things on top.

WP_20151024_001

It was a beautiful day in Wellington. It was even HOT. I went outside with just a singlet on and it was perfect! Just to prove it…here is a photo of my arm in the sun and a delish tangelo ice block I got on a little walk with Wayne from this afternoon.WP_20151024_011

WP_20151024_010

But the real glorious moment of today was dinner! We decided to make sushi and it was one of the best decisions Wayne and I had ever made. We are both dedicated sushi lovers. We have our favourite place in town that we go to nearly every weekend after church that offers the most amazingly fresh and tasty sushi.

ItΒ was through my exploding enthusiasm that I suggested that we made our own tonight! I enjoy making fiddly food. A few weeks ago we made homemade dumplings. I decided to go all the way and made rice flour from scratch and then from there make the steamed dumplings. I don’t know if we’ll be doing that again though….it was very time consuming.

Sushi, however, is a breeze.

First off I made the rice. About a good 1 and a half cups of dried rice went into the pot. After it was cooked I put in a 1/4 cup of rice wine vinegar, 1 Tbsp of sugar and a tsp of salt. This helps the taste and makes it sticky πŸ™‚

WP_20151024_012 WP_20151024_013

I also prepared all the veges and Wayne cooked chicken for himself. I also made a really yummy cashew cream. It turned out really well!

Next came the procedure of putting it all together! I think the next few photos will explain most of it:

WP_20151024_015 WP_20151024_017

WP_20151024_016

WP_20151024_018WP_20151024_021

It was so much fun! And so simple!! It is so exciting when the sushi roll actually comes together πŸ™‚ We both felt a sense of accomplishment.

Here are the final results! All served with soy sauce and wasabi.

WP_20151024_025 WP_20151024_024 WP_20151024_023 WP_20151024_022

Sushi every night? I could do that. Our sushi was the freshest sushi I had ever had, and you can make as much as you want! We both had about 2 and half sushi rolls each. My stomach felt pretty good after that.

I hope you’ve been enjoying your long weekend so far!

One thought on “30 days with Maddy, Day Ten! : Simply Sushi

Leave a Reply

