30 Days with Maddy, Day Seventeen: Pizza and a Speech

“I had a little nut tree, nothing would it bare

…so I dug it up and burnt it, and bought an apple tree instead”.

This was a little poem I read as a child believe it or not.

Tonight I made pizza for dinner. It was pretty flippin’ awesome.

The dough was made up of: 2 cups of plain flour, a pinch of salt, two thirds of a cup of warm water with a Tbsp of yeast and and tsp of sugar. I let it rise in a bowl for about an hour under glad-wrap and then rolled it out and precooked it for around 5-10 minutes at 200 degrees before putting the topping on.

The topping was a rich tomato base made from herbs, miso paste, balsamic vinegar, onions, garlic and tinned tomatoes. I also chucked on some mashed beans, spinach, mushrooms and lots of olives! The more olives the better!

I then experimented and made a “cheese sauce” by blending soaked cashews, miso paste, water, nutritional yeast/ brewers yeast (gives the cheesy flavour), garlic powder, mustard, corn flour and a squirt of lemon juice. I then heated it up in a sauce pan and it became a thick and creamy cheese sauce. I drizzled that over the pizza and accompanied it with lots of bbq sauce and pepper.

Into the oven it went for around 20 minutes. So good!!! So yummy!!!!!!! Here are some photos:

WP_20151031_001 WP_20151031_002 WP_20151031_003 WP_20151031_004

I don’t have any precise measurements of the ingredients, sorry, as I normally just make everything up. BUT, there are millions of recipes online for dairy free cheese sauces that are so easy!!!

Also, if you’re interested in watching a speech, look at THIS

I apologise for my short blog entries as of late. I’ve been very busy, but things will settle down hopefully by the middle of next week.

See you all tomorrow!!!

Leave a Reply

