30 Days with Maddy, Day TwentyFIVE : The Vege Word – WARNING – this is a long post

First off here is a little bible verse:

“I know and am convinced on the authority of the Lord Jesus that no food, in and of itself, is wrong to eat. But if someone believes it is wrong, then for that person it is wrong. And if another believer is distressed by what you eat, you are not acting in love if you eat it. Don’t let your eating ruin someone for whom Christ died. Then you will not be criticized for doing something you believe is good. For the Kingdom of God is not a matter of what we eat or drink, but of living a life of goodness and peace and joy in the Holy Spirit. If you serve Christ with this attitude, you will please God, and others will approve of you, too.”

Romans 14:14-18

Why am I putting this verse up you might ask? I just want to let you all know that I’m not writing this post as a judgement to anyone at all. I have no authority to judge anyone. I’m writing this to explain my recent discoveries. Actually the whole of chapter 14 is fantastic 🙂

I’m sorry if you’re offended by anything in this post, but I’m not meaning to offend AT ALL.

Also, this post in heavily influenced by my Christian faith, so it may not align with your beliefs.

Recently you may have noticed that a lot of my recipes of late…such as these burgers, this pizza, these cookies, this icecream, this chocolate pie, and this sushi had no cheese, no butter, no eggs and no meat in them.

That’s because since early August this year, I adopted a Vegan lifestyle.

No, I haven’t turned into a hippie. But if you want to call me that, I don’t mind. I think it’s quite funny actually.

But whyyyyyy???!!! you may ask. And that is fair enough 🙂 I mean, I was a lover of yoghurt in a big big way. I adored chicken roasts. Butter on bread was fabulous and a cheesy pizza was never a bad thing. I even stated…and I quote myself from this July when I was with my friend whilst eating some sausage “I will never become a vegetarian”. No, I didn’t.  But a week after that I went even more “extreme” and became a vegan.

It’s not like it happened over night as such. I had been going dairy free for a couple of weeks as an experiment to see if the mucus that formed in the back of my throat would go away. It did. I thought that would be really difficult as I was an avid tea drinker…but it wasn’t. In fact, I don’t really drink caffeine anymore, and I’m fine and I’m alive. I do drink red bush tea though, and it is fantastic!!! And giving up yoghurt was fine. In fact my famous porridge that I so highly talked about in this post is nothing to what I eat now. I look at it and think “how did I survive the morning on such a little amount of food?!” I eat over twice the amount now! (minus the dairy). I add so many glorious things to my porridge, and I eat until I feel completely satisfied.

ANYWAY. I must stay on topic.

In one sentence I’ll explain why I’ve gone vegan. I don’t like the way people exploit animals and how it also affects the planet in a negative way.

I went Vegan for: Ethical, Environmental and then Health reasons.

I’m not going on a “vegan diet” solely for health (not a bad thing though!). If I was, I would probably give up and want animal products again. Diets don’t work. No, the reasons that I chose this was from learning how animals were treated in this world through farming, and the way this is affecting the planet and societies health. I’ve done so many hours of research and reading from the perspectives of meat eaters and non. Something clicked in my brain one day and I cannot see the death of a animal for human consumption as justifiable again.

I can’t see the logic to kill life for health.

The top three documentaries that really got my attention were these three:

Earthlings:

This film really opened my eyes to seeing animals as actual living beings. As a christian (or not) it is really easy to find yourself in a space where everything on this planet revolves around the human race. It doesn’t. I didn’t think twice about where or how my meat was given to me. All I knew was that it was from an animal. I didn’t think about how that animal had a mother, what it’s living situations were, how it felt emotionally, how it felt physically, what it was thinking, that the only reason that it came to being meat was because it was killed and that the only reason it was alive in the first place was that God had breathed his life into it. In fact in Genesis, God made the animals on this planet before man and said “it was GOOD”. I’ll elaborate on this later.

Another documentary I watched was called “Cowspiracy”

This documentary is really good. I’m not even joking. Even if you’re only interested in how this planet is functioning, just watch this.

The third documentary I watched was “Forks over Knives”

This is so good! It focuses on the health benefits of a diet with no/minimal animal products. It is very interesting.

I challenge you to watch all of these. Find some time in your day. Instead of watching that home and garden show, or gossip girl, or heros, enjoy one of these. You can find them all on the internet.

As a Christian I felt a little awkward trying to justify the fact that I thought eating animals was not needed. I mean, God said we could eat animals right?

I believe Christianity comes hand and hand with a vegan lifestyle. Right from the very beginning in the garden of Eden, God’s first dietary law stated “I give you every seed-bearing plant on the face of the whole earth and every tree that has fruit with seed in it. They will be yours for food.” Everything was perfect until sin entered. Why would God design our bodies to take in death? I believe we don’t need it.

herbivore-chart

After the flood God gave Noah and his family permission to eat the flesh of an animal. I believe this was due to the environmental circumstances of the world after the flood. The world would then go through an ice age that would cause problems for vegetation.

Even though he gave permission and it is NOT a sin to eat, meat was given as a means for an extreme circumstance. Meat was never taken lightly, and all the way throughout Leviticus when the Israelites were going through the desert, God gave such detailed instructions on how meat was to be prepared. When they had nothing, God gave them Manna – a heavenly food that gave them everything they needed, yet they complained and wanted meat. God actually got angry and did send them meat through the source of quails, but not without disease and plague. I believe meat should be seen as a secondary source of nutrients when there is actually nothing else. I mean, if I was an Eskimo…I’d have no choice 😛

Jesus came to save us from death and pain in this world. He came as the sacrifice. We no longer need to sacrifice animals for our sins. Isaiah 66:3 states, “Whoever sacrifices a bull is like one who kills a man, and whoever offers a lamb, like one who breaks a dog’s neck.” Are we not meant to be striving for a peaceful and a compassionate earth? As it states in the Lords Prayer “…your kingdom come, your will be done, on earth as it is in heaven”. Is there death in heaven? Will we be killing God’s creation in heaven? Will we be stealing the breast milk of another animals in heaven? Will we be breeding and killing animals so we can eat something tasty in heaven?

God talks about how perfect Eden was, and how perfect the world will be at the end times as stated in Isaiah: “The wolf will live with the lamb, the cow will feed with the bear, the lion will eat straw like the ox, and a little child will lead them. And neither will harm nor destroy on My Holy Mountain.”

If we want to support the heaven on Earth view, then why do we support the death of animals from slaughterhouses, or in general? Why do we rape/impregnate cows, wait for them to have babies, take away their newborns months too early, just so we can drink the milk with six times the amount of protein as human milk, that was meant to grow a calf into a huge beast. Does it seem a little weird that our children naturally wean off our human milk, only to put them on the breast milk of another animal? Then continue this habit as an adult? Why do we support the unnecessary death of billions of baby male chicks every year (even in NZ!) just because they don’t produce an unnatural amount of eggs ( if you’re interested in how chickens have been breed to lay eggs everyday read THIS) Why do we support the inhumane treatment of God’s creation?9241e0a648cee8610956b20015e6ce28

This planet is cutting down forests and destroying wildlife so we can harvest grains for animals that have been breed for food, so we can feed them, eat their bodies and drink their offspring’s milk.

As a christian, or just a human that’s living on this planet, I don’t want to support this, I think it is not biblical and that is why I’m heading down the lifestyle that supports peace for every part of creation 🙂 If Jesus was living on this planet today, would he support this? If we are to live as images of God, then what is God’s heart for this world? Are we not supposed to represent ourselves as God to the animals?

I know a lot of people in NZ claim that this country doesn’t have factory farming, but it does. Everywhere. Here’s a video about it HERE.

Anyway, I could go on and on.

The world tells us that meat and dairy is good for us….I mean, that’s like the only food that is advertised on TV and on billboards -especially NZ being a dairy and meat haven! But there is a lot of evidence that is against it. Meat is easy. Meat is tasty. Meat is quick. Meat is part of tradition. It is a big part of culture. I understand. But if you want to learn how you are getting your food, I encourage you to do a little research 🙂

You can live a life/eat a diet that does not support any suffering for anything on this planet if you choose to do a little research and change some things… start with a little. I mean, I’m probably still doing lots of things that aren’t good for this planet, but I’m interested in how to help this creation be the best it can be.

The western world is abundant in veges and fruit and all things good 🙂 Make the most of it! I eat the most I’ve eaten in my entire life the last few months, and my body has felt great.

And concerning free-range, I still think that looking after an animal with the intention of killing it is unnecessary. Actually if you’re interested about free-range food look at this website: http://freefromharm.org/

ANYWAY. I hope you survived this post. I’m sorry if it was difficult and annoying to read, but I thought I’d elaborate. I love everyone!

12140851_10153005366421991_4934772213133462801_necd9a711f208d98f61f37c72ee9d24ec 12141668_10153005366296991_5823204177491799997_n

6 thoughts on “30 Days with Maddy, Day TwentyFIVE : The Vege Word – WARNING – this is a long post

  1. Very well written Maddy and very thoughtful comments. I like your point of view and I’m looking forward to watching the films.

    Love,

    Mummy (98% vegan) 😊

    Sent from Windows Mail

    Like

Leave a Reply

