Colouring with Water

Hello again.

Hold on….Arg! I just found a hair in my cookie! Oh that’s terrible. Hopefully Wayne didn’t find one in the one he’s eating. That’s the problem with having long hair – you’re bound to get hair in your food at least once a …week.

Anyway. I hope all is well.

Wellington has put on a good spot of weather the last few days…except for today. I went inside after a morning out to eat my lunch. The weather was perfect. An hour later I ventured outside for a walk and to my disappointment, it was raining.

It was time for a plan B.

I had been meaning to experiment with some water colour paints that my dad gave me when I was around 13. They used to be his when he was a boy.

 

WP_20160609_14_07_40_Pro

 

I was never taught how to use them properly, so I don’t think I’m that great even though I’ve experimented with them quite a bit during my teenage years.

I’m sure most of you all know that I draw a cartoon here and there on the odd occasion, so I thought instead of colouring my pictures with pencil, I’d use water colour.

Part of my inspiration is through Quentin Blake – the renowned illustrator for the author Roald Dahl and various other children’s authors. He uses water colour to bring his drawings to life. Here is interesting video with him in it.

 

So, I thought I’d give it a go. Just a quick 2 min doodle on an envelope.

 

WP_20160609_14_21_54_Pro

Hmmmm. I didn’t really know what I was doing, so I tried to find some tutorials on YouTube. Wow! There are just an ENDLESS amount. There really are some talented people in the world. I won’t post a video because you can just look yourself. I looked through a few but ended up a little distracted. I did try another though…

WP_20160609_19_46_38_Pro (2)

But this time a got a little carried away…

I think with just a bit more practice, I’ll get better 🙂 Maybe I’ll keep you updated.

But before I leave…in regards to that cookie. I made up another recipe…which is probably quite similar to the other ones I’ve made which can be seen in the recipe section of this blog.

WP_20160609_19_51_16_Pro

Come on…you want to make these.

CHOCOLATY CHOCOLATE COOKIES:

Makes around 8 cookies.

You will need:

2 Tbsp peanut butter

2 tsp blackstrap molasses

1/3 cup coconut sugar

1 tsp vanilla essence

2 Tbsp Tapioca starch

3 Tbsp Water

1/4 cup Cocoa

1/3 Rolled oats

1/4 cup plain flour

3/4 tsp Baking soda

As much chocolate as you want….but around a half cup (at least)

preheat oven to 180 degrees.

Mix together the peanut butter, vanilla, sugar, tapioca starch and water really well. Mix in the cocoa. Finally mix the flour, oats and baking soda. Fold in the chocolate.

bake for around 12 minutes.

Cool, then EAT 😀

 

Have a lovely rest of your day and I’ll see you soon!!!

 

 

2 thoughts on “Colouring with Water

Leave a Reply

