Yummy things and a quiche with no eggs?!

Hello Hello 🙂

How are you? Wellington has finally given us winter and it has showed up in a horrific unforgiving manner. The temperature has been an average of 5 degrees the last couple of days. Nasty nasty.

Anyway, I thought I’d show you some yummy things that I have discovered and created the last few days.

First off, on Friday morning to my utter disbelief and horror, I discovered we had no more oats. This could’ve been seen as a near disaster as porridge is a staple. However, I discovered a way to compensate. RICE. Glorious rice.

I cooked some rice with a few dates, blended it till nearly smooth, chucked in a mashed banana and a dollop of molasses and then topped it with berries. All was well again!

WP_20160805_10_04_07_Pro

Pretty much rice pudding.

So recently I have discovered the joy of purchasing things online. I feel I am a little late to this game.

I bought a funky product that I had seen circulating the web called PB2 powder. AKA powdered peanut butter. I know. Sounds ridiculous right? Sounds processed and fake? I was quite skeptical too….until I tried it. It is literally roasted peanuts that have been pressed to get all of the oils out, and then dried and ground up into a powder. You add water to the powder and it becomes something that looks just like peanut butter. It smells like peanut butter. It TASTES like peanut butter. Honestly, there really isn’t any difference. In fact, I’m afraid to say that I think I like it MORE than regular peanut butter. Some could say it’s a lot healthier as all the saturated fat has been taken out, but ah, whatever.

I tried it with some strawberry jam of course.

Now another product I’ve discovered is a plant milk. It’s called “Coco Quench”. It is amazing. Since going off dairy I’ve found it very hard to find a plant milk that I’ve really enjoyed and one that isn’t filled with random other things that I don’t know. Coco Quench is literally just coconut milk, water, brown rice and a little salt. It’s great because it doesn’t have a strong coconut taste all which was surprising to me. It was very creamy and delicious 🙂 And the husband liked it – extra bonus! I had some with Cheerios and it was a winner. Cheerios was also the other product I discovered yesterday. I wouldn’t purchase it all the time, but it is SO yummy! I can’t believe I’ve only just tried it!

 

Ok, so the last thing I want to talk about is a quiche I made last night that had no eggs in it! You might be thinking, huh? You have every right to be!

I made a vegan quiche. The secret ingredients? Besan Flour (chickpea flour) and black salt (also known as Kala Namak or Himalayan black salt ).

Now, I’m not going to write a recipe here, sorry, as I mixed about five different recipes together to make my own. But I can tell you that besan flour is amazing! It creates a texture that is very similar to a eggy quiche.

You also don’t want to skimp out on the black salt. It has a sulfur smell which creates a taste and a smell that is incredibly similar to egg! But of course, if you don’t want it to taste or smell like egg just leave it out.

Some good recipes to follow would be THIS, THIS, THIS VIDEO or THIS VIDEO 

Here’s how mine turned out.

 

I probably added too many veges, but it was still good!

Righto, that’s all I have to say. Remember that video with those two crazy Irish guys I put in another video, well I’m going to leave you with them 🙂 Have a good day!

 

One thought on “Yummy things and a quiche with no eggs?!

Leave a Reply

