A Bold and Chocolatey Experiment

Hi.

If you were wondering where I was, I’m still here 🙂 I just don’t post every day in case you were freaking out or something.

Sooooooo I made a cake yesterday.

wp_20170125_16_49_05_pro

Would you believe me if I told you that this cake is on the edge of being healthy?

Well…it is.

I’m a bit of a sucker when it comes to trying out a “healthy” recipe.

I was going to make this cake:

It’s not the slightest bit good for you…well…yeah, nah. It really isn’t.

I hyped up some of my family by telling them I was going to be round one night with an indulgent epic chocolate cake.

But then I saw this recipe:

It was like the lady in the video was daring me to bake it so I could see the magic of a so called “healthy” cake taste sinful.

So I gave in. I baked it.

It’s an odd recipe. Sweet potato (the orange one), dates, blueberries and buckwheat flour are all the main ingredients.

So this cake caters to everyone. Vegan, gluten free, refined sugar free and lower in fat than a regular cake. Crazy. You’d think it’d be impossible.

So I made the cakes. Beware, it took me an hour to bake them compared to the 30 minutes in the recipe.

I then slathered a top quality strawberry jam on top of the first layer:

wp_20170125_15_55_59_pro

Ooops, that picture is upside down. Oh well.

Then I spread some whipped coconut cream on top.

wp_20170125_15_58_15_pro

wp_20170125_15_58_58_pro

Mmmmmm.

Then I made a frosting by making a ganache with melted chocolate (mix of 50% and 62%) with some soy milk, popping it in the freezer for short intervals, whisking it furiously with a whisk, putting it back in the freezer, taking it out and whisking again until it became thick and…whipped.

wp_20170125_16_00_30_pro

And then I decorated it! Wooo!

This is always the fun part.

Ok, Ok, final photo – I promise.

wp_20170125_19_27_58_pro

Isn’t it beautiful?

It tastes better eaten cold. And the family ate it, so that’s the main thing 🙂

Right, so the picture I drew two days ago:

wp_20170126_21_35_30_pro

The one yesterday:

wp_20170125_21_50_43_pro

And finally, the one today:

wp_20170126_21_37_28_pro

This picture is really the complete opposite of an ant! Ant’s are the most hard working creatures on this earth!

Anyway, see you soon!

Leave a Reply

